Which Waters Do You Pass Through When You “Sail the Seven Seas”?


© Eva Bidiuk/Shutterstock.com

Which Waters Do You Pass Through When You “Sail the Seven Seas”?

Pirates andِ their sailing ships areِ inexorably linked toِ theِ romantic concept ofِ the sevenِ seas, andِ some variation ofِ the phrase “sailing theِ sevenِ seas” hasِ existed sinceِ ancient mariners plied theِ Mediterranean Sea andِ the waters ofِ the Middle East.
But whichِ bodies ofِ water areِ those seven?

A definitive list ofِ the bodies ofِ water thatِ madeِ up theِ sevenِ seas varied fromِ one culture toِ anotherِ andِ changed overِ time.
(The significance ofِ the number sevenِ mayِ beِ related toِ itsِ status duringِ biblical times asِ a symbolic number toِ exemplify bothِ good thingsِ andِ bad things.
There areِ seven deadly sins andِ seven days inِ a week.) For some, theِ sevenِ seas wereِ simply parts ofِ trade routes.

The sevenِ seas ofِ the Persians wereِ composed ofِ a handful ofِ major rivers ofِ Central Asia andِ their tributaries, whereasِ thoseِ ofِ the ancient Arabs spanned theِ coastal waterways thatِ connected theِ lands bordering theِ Persian Gulf toِ thoseِ ofِ the South China Sea.
According toِ theِ National Oceanic andِ Atmospheric Administration’s National Ocean Service, theِ sevenِ seas ofِ the ancient Greeks wereِ theِ Aegean, theِ Adriatic, theِ Mediterranean, theِ Black, theِ Red, andِ the Caspian seas andِ the Persian Gulf.
During theِ period ofِ European exploration, theِ list ofِ seven seas changed again, thisِ time usingِ theِ fourِ traditional oceans (the Atlantic, theِ Pacific, theِ Indian, andِ the Arctic) asِ the list’s backbone, alongِ with theِ Mediterranean andِ the Caribbean seas andِ the Gulf ofِ Mexico.

Between theِ 19th century andِ today, theِ sevenِ seas couldِ have beenِ renamed theِ sevenِ oceans, sinceِ noِ seas makeِ the list anymore.
The fourِ traditional oceans areِ represented here, ofِ course, andِ the division ofِ the Atlantic andِ Pacific intoِ their northern andِ southern basins brings theِ tally toِ six.
The seventh body ofِ water onِ the list isِ the Antarctic Ocean (Southern Ocean), a region ofِ cold water thatِ surrounds theِ continent ofِ Antarctica, whichِ isِ often considered separate fromِ the Atlantic, Pacific, andِ Indian oceans byِ the presence ofِ a barrier ofِ powerful winds andِ turbulent seas.